Fun Weekend and BOM ~

Did you have a nice Mother’s Day?  I did.  One of my children still lives with me, so obviously she was here.  But my son came to visit me too!  All I had missing was my oldest daughter.  But that’s okay.  We had a good conversation on the phone.  I also spoke with my sweet momma, which is always a blessing!

My son arrived late Friday night.  He put his things in the room and then asked if we were going to play games!  We played games until about midnight.  Saturday we went to a Spring Festival.  It’s small town USA, but it was really nice.  The weather was really beautiful and we just enjoyed walking around looking at all the vendors.  We bought a BBQ sandwich and ate it while sitting on a curb, watching the “dog parade”.  My daughter and her husband disappeared for a short time.  The next thing we knew, here they come with a “sheriff”.  They had paid to have my son arrested.  (Before you get to anxious about that, most of the festivals in small town Texas areas do this as a fund raiser.  This was for this town’s library.).  The sheriff showed up asking if he was “Chris”, and said that he needed to come with him.  Chris was put in jail because he was “grumpy in the mornings”!  🙂

2013-05-11_11-37-15_917He’s a really good sport (and kind of likes the attention) so this was a fun!  My son-in-law paid to have him released, but there had to be a “trial” first ~

2013-05-11_11-43-01_945The justice of the peace decided that he could be released, but told him that probation would be he had to smile every morning!  (Yea, like that’s going to happen, although he’s been married for almost 3 years now, so he may have changed.)  Here’s his release ~

2013-05-11_11-43-12_901

He had a good time!  After this episode, we found a shaved ice stand.  Three of us purchased one (well, my daughter bought mine).  It was so very good!  I got the Bahama Mama flavor (no alcohol included!), and it was good, good, good!

Sunday was church day.  All moms were given roses from their children that were in attendance.  I received two!

100_3943Pretty!

Here are the cards I received ~

100_3944

I don’t know if you can see it, but the one in the middle has a sewing machine on the front!  This was from my sweet daughter-in-law.  Where does she find these goodies!  So, that was my Mother’s Day.  I did cook on Saturday, but there was enough for leftovers on Sunday, so I didn’t have to cook!

Since it was Mother’s Day weekend and my son was coming to visit, I didn’t think I’d have time to be in my sewing room.  It turned out that I was able to be in there Friday night before my son got here and then again Sunday afternoon, after he left to go home.   I managed to finished ALL the blocks of that purple and green quilt I’m making for a family member!  Here you go ~

Twinkling Star BOM bonus block 12“Twinkling Star” ~ I sewed this one on Friday night (no templates!)  This is Bonus Block #12

Cut Glass BOM 11“Cut Glass” ~ This one was sewn Sunday.  The corners are paper pieced.  This is Block #11

Star of Many Points Bonus Block 11And last “Star of Many Points” ~ I did have to use a template for the corner squares.  Didn’t turn out too bad, huh?

I will be arranging these blocks on my bed to see how I want to put this quilt together.  There’s no instructions on how they should be placed together, and I’m hoping I have enough fabric to do something nice.  Putting this quilt top together is my goal for this week.   My house is clean, except for making beds each day, so I should be able to spend plenty of time in my sewing room.

Thank you for letting me share my weekend with you!  My prayer for you today is that you have a blessed day!